My favourite spring perennial flower

I was recently asked what my favourite spring flower is.  That is a tough question for me.  It is like being asked what my favourite chocolate bar is….I like them all.  If I had to choose just one I would say Anemone pulsatilla (syn. Pulsatilla vulgaris) ‘pasque’ flower. 

Every year I am delighted to see the purple beauty of ‘pasque’ flower.  It starts flowering early April and keeps on going for approximately 6 weeks.  When it is done flowering the heads and foliage of the flower are fluffy and soft looking, similar to the head of a clematis flower.  ‘Pasque’ flower prefers full sun and in my experience, it does not like being moved once it has established its roots.  If you can find a sunny location to sneak one of these into your garden, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

 

Leave a Reply

