Designing with conifers.

Truly…I cannot wait!  I absolutely love conifers and I am excited for spring when the new selections arrive at the ‘Rideau Woodland Ramble’.  Conifers add structure and character to a garden.  They provide winter interest and they just shine in the spring when they push out their new growth.  What will I be designing with this spring?  Here are two of my definite picks. 

Picea pungens ‘Procumbens’.  This is an excellent choice for a groundcover and it looks beautiful planted with rocks and other unique conifers.

Pinus strobus ‘Niagara Falls’.  This selection was chosen 2009 Collector Conifer of the year.  I absolutely love the flowing habit and I think the name is well suited. 

Leave a Reply

